Miso paste is naturally and always vegan. The key ingredients are actually quite simple vegan ingredients, but the transformation they go on is extraordinarily; the fermentation process takes the humble soybeans, salt and rice koji to an incredibly complex, even meaty taste!
It is understandable why some people think that miso might not be vegan because many miso soup recipes combine vegan miso paste with fish stock, and this is a traditional Japanese miso soup recipe. You can however, make miso soup vegan, by simply using a vegan dashi.
Privacy & Cookies Policy
Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the website to function properly. This category only includes cookies that ensures basic functionalities and security features of the website. These cookies do not store any personal information.