Is miso suitable for vegans & vegetarians?

Is miso suitable for vegans & vegetarians?

Miso has been a plant-based protein-source for hundreds of years for the Japanese. Naturally vegan and vegetarian, miso is suitable to people on most diets. When enjoying miso soup in a restaurant though, it is worth checking what stock (or ‘dashi) they are using, as traditionally miso soups and Japanese cuisine generally use a fish-based stock, so if you are vegan or vegetarian, do ask before ordering.

All of Miso Tasty’s products use a vegan stock though, so our products are suitable for vegan and vegetarian diets.

Miso is made primarily from soy beans, a grain like rice or barley, and salt, so unless it has been produced in a factory that also processes non-vegetarian ingredients, miso is generally vegan and vegetarian friendly. Miso has been popular with those on a plant-based diet traditionally as fermented soy holds a number of health benefits including being high in protein, and contains  vitamin B12 – something that many vegetarians lack from their plant-based diet.

You might also like…

The Telegraph talk to Miso Tasty about why miso is 2019’s new superfood!

By | June 13th, 2019|Categories: Discover, Health, News, Press|Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

The Telegraph pick Miso Tasty's brain's about the benefits of [...]

2019-09-05T21:07:26+00:00 Discover, Health, Miso|

Leave A Comment